BJP confident of retaining power in Himachal Pradesh

BJP leader Anurag Thakur expressed confident of his party victory in Himachal Pradesh.

Shimla: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Anurag Thakur on Sunday expressed confident of his party victory in Himachal Pradesh.

"I think, we have done a good work in Himachal Pradesh and I personally believe that Himachal is going make a history," said Thakur.

"Lets not go into the numbers, but I can say that we would get about 2/3 majority, he added.

The polling for the 68 seats of Himachal Pradesh assembly elections, which began amid tight security here at 8 am, will end at 5 pm.

A record number of 459 candidates, including 27 women, are in the fray.

The BJP and Congress are contesting all 68 seats while BSP has fielded 66 candidates followed by Himachal Lokhit Party (36), TMC (25), SP (16), CPI-M (15), NCP and Swabhiman Party (12 each), CPI (7), Shiv Sena (4) and 105 Independents.

The Election Commission has set up 7,253 polling stations for 46,08,359 electors.

60 companies of para military forces along with state police have been deployed to provide security cover in the state for holding elections in a peaceful manner.

Boundaries of Himachal Pradesh with neighboring states have been sealed to check the entry of unscrupulous elements.

Counting of votes will take place on December 20.

In 2007, the BJP won 41 seats, the Congress 23, the BSP one and independents three. The lone BSP legislator later joined the BJP.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link