This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

BPCL wins Chess title

Last Updated: Friday, February 18, 2011 - 17:05

Panaji: Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited Team A comprising Harikrishna P, Gopal GN, Parimarjan Negi and Abhijit Gupta won the 22nd Petrolelum Sports promotion Board Inter-Unit Chess tournament, played at Clube Gaspar Dias Hall
in Miramar here scoring 9 match points.

The runners-up were Oil and Natural Gas Corporation- Team A comprising K Sasikiran, Koneru Hampy, Neelotpal Das, Vidit Gujrati and P Kongvel with 8 points.

India Oil`s Team B finished third with 7 points.
Bharat Corporation Limited is winning this tournament for the first time with new recruitment of two players GM Harikrishna P and Grand master Parimarjan Negi.

A total of 13 GM, 11 International Masters, 2 Women GM and one Women Fide Master participated in this tournament.

After the completion of the team event Grand Masters Harikrishna P, Gopal G N, Sundarajan Kidambi, Arun Prasad, Abhijit Gupta and M R Venkatesh gave a display of simultaneous chess by playing with 42 Goan players.
Only Shane Braganza managed to hold GM Arun Prasad for a draw, rest all players lost.


First Published: Friday, February 18, 2011 - 17:05

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus