Chennai Super Kings crowned IPL champions

Chennai Super Kings beat Mumbai Indians by 22 runs to win the final of the Indian Premier League 2010.

Zeecric Bureau

Mumbai: Suresh Raina’s fantastic innings of 57 not out helped Chennai Super Kings beat Mumbai Indians by 22 runs to win the final of the Indian Premier League 2010 played here at the DY Patil Stadium on Sunday.

After scoring a competitive 168/5, Chennai came out to restrict the Mumbai Indians to 146/9 despite Keiron Pollard’s late charge of 27 (10 balls). Sachin Tendulkar was the top-scorer with 45.

Chasing 169 ton win, Mumbai suffered an early jolt as Shikhar Dhawan departed in the 2nd over of the innings. Dhawan was caught behind the wickets by Dhoni off Bollinger for a duck.

Tendulkar and Abhishek Nayar took the Mumbai total past the 50-run mark in the 10th over of the innings. Nayar (27) became the second Mumbai batsman to take the long walk back to the pavilion after he was brilliantly run-out off a direct hit.

Harbhajan Singh, who surprisingly came in to bat at number four, did not last long and was out lbw by Suresh Raina for 1.

After scoring 48 runs, Tendulkar departed while trying to push the scoring rate. Tendulkar was caught by Murali Vijay at long-off off Shadab Jakati.

Saurabh Tiwary’s short stay at the wicket came to an abrupt end after he was brilliantly caught by Suresh Raina off Jakati for a duck.

JP Duminy became the sixth Mumbai wicket to fall after he was caught by Jakati off Muttiah Muralitharan for 6.

Keiron Pollard’s blitz ended and with it came to an end the home team’s hopes of winning the championship after the big man was caught by Hayden off Morkel.
Chennai Super Kings Innings

Earlier, Suresh Raina scored an unbeaten half-century to help Chennai Super Kings make a competitive 168/5 off their allotted 20 overs against the Mumbai Indians. Raina’s 57 came off just 35 balls and included three fours and as many sixes.

Having elected to bat after winning the toss, Chennai Super Kings got off to a good start as the opening pair of Matthew Hayden and Murali Vijay looked in good touch.

Vijay’s entertaining knock of 26 runs off 19 balls came to end, however, after he departed caught by Saurabh Tiwary at square leg off Dilhara Fernando.

Moments after Vijay’s dismissal, Chennai received another jolt as the burly Matthew Hayden departed after struggling to make 17 off 31 balls. Hayden was caught behind the wickets by Ambati Rayudu off Kieron Pollard.

Chennai lost their third wicket in the form of S Badrinath, who was sent back by Fernando for 14.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Suresh Raina took the Chennai total past the 100-run mark in the 15th over of the innings despite losing three wickets. The duo brought up its 50-run partnership a little while later off just 25 balls.

After smashing 22 runs off 15 balls and adding 72 crucial runs along with Suresh Raina, Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni departed caught by Zaheer Khan off Fernando.

Albie Morkel was the last Chennai wicket to fall after being run-out in the last over for 15.

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Abhishek Nayar, Ambati Rayudu(w), Saurabh Tiwary, Jean-Paul Duminy, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga

Chennai Super Kings: Matthew Hayden, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Subramaniam Badrinath, Albie Morkel, Srikkanth Anirudha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Doug Bollinger, Muttiah Muralitharan


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link