This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Double win for Khade, Indians clinch four Golds

Last Updated: Saturday, February 6, 2010 - 21:37

Dhaka: Veerdhawal Khade bettered two meet
records as Indians ruled the roost by clinching four gold and
five silver medals on the second day of aquatics events at
11th South Asian Games here today.

At the National Swimming Complex in Mirpur competitions
were held in five events, in which Indian swimmers swelled
their overall tally to eight gold, five silver and one bronze
medals in the aquatics.

Youngest Indian swimmer to represent India in the Beijing
Olympics, Khade rewrote two meet records -- in 50m butterfly
and 50m freestyle categories -- en route to his back-to-back

In 50m butterfly, the Kolhapur swimmer clocked 25.54 to
better his own record of 25.97, created in Colombo SAG four
years ago.

Arjun Muralidharan earned India the silver with a timing
of 26.15s, while local lad Mohammad Anik Islam settled for the
bronze with a timing of 26.61.

In the 50m freestyle, a timing of 23.73 by Khade bettered
the previous record -- held by Sebastian Xavier (23.89) -- en
route to his second gold on the trot.

Aaron D`Souza finished second (24.42) for the silver,
while Mohammad Mahfizur Rahman of Bangladesh with a timing of
24.53 clinched the bronze. Khade`s personal coach Nihar Ameen told.

performance has been on the expected lines. It helped him
(Khade) have a feel of the competition since he is taking part
in championship after few months."

Khade won six golds in 2006 Colombo Games.

Meanwhile, Richa Mishra (1:05.74) claimed India the
fourth gold in women`s 100m butterfly, while Vandita Dhariyal
(1:08.40) ensured that all the five silver medals remain with

Sri Lankan Miniruwani Shashiprabha Samarakoon (1:10.38s)
settled for the bronze.

In the 400m freestyle, GVA Puttaveerswami clocked an
impressive 4:04.85s for the third record, bettering Rehan
Poncha`s previous best of 4:05.94s created in Colombo Games.

Mandar Divase (4:07.41) bagged the silver, while Ishrar
Husain of Pakistan took the bronze with a timing of 4:24.85s.

Balkrishnan Badrinath (59.08) missed the gold by a
fraction of seconds as India had to settle for silver in the
100m backstroke, while Sri Lanka`s Heshan Bandara Unamboowe
set a new record with a timing of 58.98 and bettered
compatriot Andrew Abeysinghe`s timing of 1:00.01 en route to a

Mohammad Rubel Rana of Bangladesh took away the bronze
with a timing of 1:02.65s.


First Published: Saturday, February 6, 2010 - 21:37
comments powered by Disqus