This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Four Pak players get Indian visas for IPL

Four Pakistani cricketers were granted Indian visas, paving way for their participation in IPL-III.

Zeecric Bureau

New Delhi: Four Pakistani cricketers- Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Misbah ul Haq and Kamran Akmal were granted Indian visas, paving way for their participation in the third edition of the Indian Premier League scheduled for March 2010.

IPL Chairman Lalit Modi had on Tuesday, dropped a bombshell saying that Pakistani cricketers would not be allowed to participate in the Twenty20 extravaganza owing to their failure to secure no objection certificates from Pakistan’s Sports Ministry.

11 Pak players had participated in the inaugural IPL in 2008 but owing to political tensions between India and Pakistan in 2009, visas weren’t issued to these players for the second edition.

Though, the mega event was eventually shifted to South Africa, only these four players could manage to save their contracts from suspension.

Modi, however, had asked the Pakistan Cricket Board specifically for NOCs of the above mentioned players, a request that was complied.

Sohai Tanvir and Kamran Akmal are with Rajasthan Royals, while Umar Gul and Misbah ul Haq are on the payroll of Kolkata Knight Riders and Bangalore Royal Challengers respectively.

Knight Riders’ new signing Razzaq is still awaiting a NOC.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery