This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Gambhir wins Castrol best cricketer award

Last Updated: Thursday, September 17, 2009 - 23:50

Mumbai: India opener Gautam Gambhir edged out teammate Virender Sehwag to be named the Castrol Cricketer of the Year 2008 at a glittering function here on Thursday.

Gambhir, who was declared fit today to travel to South Africa with the Indian squad for the ICC Champions Trophy after missing the previously held triangular series in Sri Lanka, received Rs five lakh and a trophy.
The left-hander, who scored over 1000 runs in Tests and ODIs in 2008, also won the best batsman of the year award while feisty off-spinner Harbhajan Singh won the best bowler of the year honours, worth a trophy and Rs two lakh each.
Swashbuckling batsman Sehwag and India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni were declared the Test and One-Day cricketers of the same year.

Bureau Report

First Published: Thursday, September 17, 2009 - 23:50

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus