This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2012: Narendra Modi wins from Maninagar

Last Updated: Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 13:57

Zeenews Bureau

Ahmedabad: Aiming for a hat-trick, Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi notched victory in his Maninagar constituency on Thursday by a huge margin.
Modi won from Maninagar Assembly constituency by over 86,373 votes trouncing Congress rival Shweta, the wife of suspended police officer Sanjeev Bhatt. The widely expected victory triggered noisy celebrations by Bharatiya Janata Party supporters.

The constituency is located on the outskirts of Ahmedabad.

Keshubhai Patel, who heads the Gujarat Parivartan Party (GPP), had decided against putting up a candidate in Maninagar to ensure a tough fight for his main rival, Modi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Riding high on expectation, the Gujarat CM, quoting Swami Vivekananda, had tweeted earlier in the day: "No need of looking behind, FORWARD! We want infinite energy, infinite courage, infinite patience..."

Modi, 62, has ruled Gujarat since October 2001 when he replaced incumbent chief minister Keshubhai Patel.

He became Gujarat`s longest serving chief minister in July 2007 when he completed 2,063 days in office. In December 2007, he led the BJP to victory for the second time in a row.

(With IANS inputs)

First Published: Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 09:41

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus