This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2012: Hat-trick for BJP, exit poll predicts

Last Updated: Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - 00:12

Zeenews Bureau

Ahmedabad: As balloting closed on Monday evening in the second and final phase of the Gujarat assembly elections, according to the initial exit poll results coming from C-Voter and Chanakya, incumbent chief minister Narendra Modi is all set to retain power with a massive victory.

The exit poll results were published by TOI.

Notably, in a repeat of the record turnout in the first phase, the second phase of Gujarat Assembly elections today saw 70 per cent polling in the toughest electoral test for Chief Minister Narendra Modi who is seeking a third term.

Exit poll carried out by C-Voter for Times Now predicted 119 to 129 seats for BJP while Congress is projected to win between 49 and 59 seats out of the total 182 seats.

News 24 showed that BJP is likely to get 140 against 117 seats it had won in 2007 assembly polls as the party is expected to get 46 per cent of the total vote share.

The poll carried out by Chanakya for the channel predicted that Congress would bag 40 seats, 19 short of 59 it won in 2007 polls.

Headlines Today projected BJP to get between 118 and 128 seats while Congress is likely to win in 50 to 56 seats with 37 per cent vote share.

The ABP News predicted BJP`s win in 116 seats and Congress in 60 constituencies.

C-Voter predicted a vote share of 46 per cent for BJP against 37 per cent for Congress while Chanakya said BJP is likely to get 50 per cent vote share against 35 per cent of Congress.

Apart from the exit poll results, an Election Commission official here also confirmed that an estimated 70% cast their ballots in the second and final phase.

Earlier, a record 70.75 per cent of the eligible voters cast their ballots in the first of the two-phase elections last Thursday with the average polling being a little over 70 percent. The highest polling recorded in the previous Assembly elections was 63.70 per cent in 1967.

First Published: Monday, December 17, 2012 - 20:05
comments powered by Disqus