Mayawati first CM to complete 5-year stint in UP

Mayawati has the distinction of being the first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh to have completed a full five-year term in the post.

Lucknow: Bahujan Samaj Party supremo Mayawati may be on her way out of `pancham tal` -- chief minister`s office in the Secretariat building -- but she has the distinction of being the first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh to have completed a full five-year term in the post.

The Dalit czarina, whose social engineering catapaulted
her to simple majority of 206 in the 403-member state assembly
in the 2007 elections, became the first chief minister of the
state to do so since independence.

The leader, who her rivals accuse of having megalomaniac
tendencies, became the Chief Minister for fourth time in 2007
achieving the feat of former Chief Ministers Chandrabhanu
Gupta and ND Tiwari of Congress who had graced the post four
times each.

The history of the state shows that none of the 31 chief
ministers were able to complete a five year term, not even
stalwarts like Gobind Ballabh Pant, Sucheta Kriplani, V P
Singh, Kamlapati Tripathi, Kalyan Singh and Mulayam Singh
Yadav among others.

Pant took oath as first chief minister of the state on
May 20, 1952 but two years later he was succeeded by
Sampurnand. In the next assemly elections in 1957, it was
Sampurnanda who led Congress to victory but after his demise
in 1960 Chandra Bhanu Gupta became the Chief Minister.

After electoral victory in 1962, Gupta became Chief
Minister for the second time but had to resign within a year
paving way for Sucheta Kriplani to become the first woman
Chief Minister in independent India in 1963.

Kriplani was elected to Lok Sabha in 1967 and Gupta again
became Chief Minister for a brief period of one month after
which Choudhary Charan Singh, with the help and support of Raj
Narain and Ram Manohar Lohia, became Chief Minister of Uttar
Pradesh in 1967, and later in 1970.

But the Jat leader`s tenure on both occasions was less
than a year before being dismissed by a Congress Government at
the Centre and imposition of President`s rule in the state.

From the first time it was imposed during the tenure of
Charan Singh in 1968, till 2007, President`s rule was imposed
in the state nine times.

Post 1970, Congress leaders like Chandra Bhanu Gupta, TN
Singh, Kamlapati Tripathi, Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, ND
Tiwari, VP Singh, Sripati Mishra and Vir Bahadur Singh also
graced the post but none of them could complete the tenure of
five years. Brief tenures of non-Congress CMs like Ram Naresh
Yadav and Banarasi Das were also witnessed.

Mulayam Singh Yadav took oath of Chief Minister in 1989
for the first time but remained in the post only two years.

While the Mandal-Mandir protests were at peak in the
country, Kalyan Singh rode on the saffron wave to be elected
as the Chief Minister of the state on June 24, 1991. His term
ended as he tendered resignation and President`s rule was
imposed on December 6, 1992 after Babri Masjid demolition.

Mulayam Singh again came to power with support from
Bahujan Samaj Party in 1993 but lasted for nearly one-and a
half year as Mayawati pulled out her party`s support. Mayawati
became the chief minister for the first time in 1995 with the
BJP support but could not complete her term.

After a brief President`s rule, Mayawati again became
Chief Minister in 1997 as part of a six-month-each-agreement
between BJP and BSP.

As per the agreement, Kalyan Singh succeeded her after
six months. He could not complete his term and Ramprakash
Gupta took his place in 1999 and later Rajnath Singh became
Chief Minister in 2000.

Mayawati became Chief Minister for third time after 2002
election with support from BJP. Within a year the government
fell and Mulayam Singh Yadav became the CM for the third time
in 2003 and continued till 2007.

In the 2007 assembly elections, Mayawati`s BSP won 206
seats giving her clear majority and five years term to rule.