Meghalaya assembly by-poll today

Last Updated: Tuesday, August 18, 2009 - 09:13

Shillong: The by-poll to the Laitumkhrah assembly constituency in Meghalaya will be held Tuesday.

Altogether six candidates, including a cabinet
minister, are in fray in the by-poll.

The bye-election to the seat was necessitated
following the resignation of the state`s lone woman legislator
Ampareen Lyngdoh as MLA on March 31.

Lyngdoh, now a non-member of the assembly with the
portfolio of education in the DD Lapang-led cabinet, had
resigned from the seat as well as from the regional United
Democratic Party (UDP) before joining the Congress in April
ahead of the collapse of the erstwhile NCP-led Meghalaya
Progressive Alliance government of which the UDP was a part.

UDP, which is also a partner in the present
Congress-led alliance government, has fielded its veteran
member Malcolm Tariang.

Also in the fray are four other candidates -- Stephen
Nongbet (BJP), Remeo Phira Rani (Hill State Peoples Democratic
Party) and two independents George Garry Lyngdoh and Andrew
Aibok Jyrwa.

Laitumkrah constituency has always been considered as
the strong hold of Lyngdoh family. Before Ampareen, the seat
was represented by her brother Robert G Lyngdoh and their
father late PG Marbaniang.

The counting will take place on August 21.

Bureau Report

First Published: Tuesday, August 18, 2009 - 09:13

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus