This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Punjab’s kingly show derails Delhi

Kings XI Punjab put up a clinical performance to upset the Delhi Daredevils by 7 wickets.

Zeecric Bureau

New Delhi: Kings XI Punjab put up a clinical performance to upset the Delhi Daredevils by 7 wickets in an Indian Premier League game played here at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Sunday.

After Irfan Pathan (3 wickts) and Piyush Chawla’s (2 wickets) splendid bowling show, the Punjab batsmen displayed some sensible cricket as they eclipsed the winning target off 112 in the 19th over. Mahela Jayawardene emerged as the top scorer with 38 while Yuvraj Singh remained unbeaten on 21.

Piyush Chawla was declared the Man of the Match.

Chasing 112 for a victory, Kings XI Punjab were off to a good start as opening batsmen Jayawardene and Irfan Pathan ensured there were no early wickets while maintaining a healthy run rate.
Irfan holed out to Rajat Bhatia in the deep off the bowling of Amit Mishra for 12 but not before he along with Jayawardene had taken his team to a comfortable position.

The Daredevils kept their hopes of a comeback in the match alive as Paul Collingwood sent back Mahela Jayawardene to reduce Kings XI Punjab to 65/2.

The fall of Jayawardene’s wicket brought little relief to the home team as new batsman Yuvraj Singh started to smash the bowling in familiar style.

Kumar Sangakkara departed clean bowled by Collingwood with just 2 runs required for a victory.

Delhi Innings

Delhi Daredevils batsmen put up a disappointing show as they were bowled out for a lowly 111 off 19.4 overs.

Gautam Gambhir and Mithun Manhas were the top scorers with 26 each while Irfan Pathan was the top wicket taker with 3 scalps. Piyush Chawla also took 2 wickets.

The Delhi batsmen were looking more interested in staying inside the pavilion rather than spend time under the hot summer sun as they kept coming and going back one after the other.

Earlier, Daredevils skipper Gambhir won the toss and elected to bat first in their Indian Premier League game against Kings XI Punjab played at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

Delhi were off to a disastrous start as Irfan Pathan struck off his very first delivery to send back Virender Sehwag for a duck. The dashing opener was caught by Reetinder Sodhi at midwicket off a mistimed shot.

Gambhir, however, did not let the early wicket affect him as he smashed Pathan for 3 boundaries off consecutive deliveries.

Delhi received another crucial blow as Gambhir (26), who was looking in great touch, was run-out, thanks to some brilliant work behind the stumps by Kumar Sangakkara.

Moments after Gambhir’s dismissal, David Warner (6) ran himself out while trying to attempt a near impossible single.
Paul Collingwood (5) became the fourth casualty as he was trapped plumb in front of the wickets off a Piyush Chawla googly. The home side’s scorecard reading a dismal 55/4..

Chawla claimed his second wicket of the match as he sent back Daniel Vettori for 2. Vettori was clean bowled off a wrong one that just clipped the top of the off stump.

After a few moments, Dinesh Karthik perished while attempting to push the scoring rate. Karthik, who struggled to make 17 off 35 deliveries, was caught at long-on by Mahela Jayawardene off Irfan Pathan.

Rajat Bhatia too took the long walk back to the pavilion after being brilliantly caught by Reetinder Sodhi off Yuvraj Singh for 1. Farveez Maharoof’s furniture was disturbed by Love Ablish for a duck.

Meanwhile, Delhi earned the dubious distinction of scoring the slowest 100 in IPL 2010 as the home team crossed the three figure mark in the 18th over.

Mithun Manhas (26) became the ninth Delhi wicket to fall after he was cleaned up by Theron.

Ashish Nehra was the last Delhi batsman to be dismissed after he was caught on the boundary by Chawla off Pathan for 1.


Delhi Daredevils: David Warner, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir (c), Paul Collingwood, Dinesh Karthik (w/k), Mithun Manhas, Daniel Vettori, Rajat Bhatia, Amit Mishra, Farveez Maharoof, Ashish Nehra

Kings XI Punjab: Adrian Barath, Kumar Sangakkara (c & w/k), Mahela Jayawardene, Yuvraj Singh, Juan Theron, Karan Goel, Irfan Pathan, Reetinder Sodhi, Piyush Chawla, Ramesh Powar, Love Ablish

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions