This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Rangasamy ministry expanded in Puducherry

Last Updated: Sunday, September 11, 2011 - 12:31

Puducherry: The Rangasamy ministry in Puducherry
was expanded on Sunday with the induction of one more minister,
taking the strength of the nearly four-month-old All India
(NR) Congress government to six.

Lt Governor Dr Iqbal Singh administered the oath of office
and secrecy at a function held at Rajnivas to 59-year-old T
Thiagarajan who took the oath in Tamil in the name of God.

Chief Minister N Rangasmy, his cabinet colleagues, Speaker
V Sababapthy, legislators of the ruling AINRC and lone
Independent member V M C Sivakumar were among those who
greeted Thiagarajan who was elected to the assembly from the
Bahoor constituency.

Legislators belonging to the opposition Congress, DMK and
AIADMK were conspicuous by their absence at the swearing-in.

Earlier, the Chief Secretary to Puducherry government
M Sathiyavathy read out the presidential notification issued
on September 2 containing the warrant of appointment of
Thiagarajan as minister.

This is the second expansion of the ministry after four
ministers were inducted on June 8.

Rangasamy, who ended the reign of his former party Congress
in a stunning electoral debut for his AINRC was sworn in as
Chief Minister for a third term on May 16.

Puducherry traditionally has a six-member ministry including
the Chief Minister.


First Published: Sunday, September 11, 2011 - 12:31
comments powered by Disqus