State of states! More or less?

During 1947-50, the princely states were politically integrated into the Indian union.

Pankaj Sharma/ Zee Research Group/Delhi

India, which is currently organized into twenty eight states and seven federally administered union territories, was at the time of independence divided into two sets of territories, the territories of ‘British India’ and ‘Princely States’. Thereby hangs a tale of state of states in the country.

During the period of 1947-1950, the territories of the princely states were politically integrated into the Indian union. However, at the time of enforcement of new constitution in 1950, Indian states had fallen into four categories.

In 1953, central government appointed the ‘State Reorganization Commission’ under the chairmanship of Fazl Ali with Pandit Hridayanath Kunzru and Sardar KM Panikkar was the members. The purpose of forming the commission was to settle the problem of demand of states on linguistic lines.

Commission submitted its report in 1955 and basis on its proposal, the ‘State Reorganization Act’ was passed by Parliament in 1956. As per directions in the act 14 states and six union territories were formed.

Assam, Andhra, Bihar, Bombay, Madhya Pradesh, Madras, Mysore, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Jammu and Kashmir were named in states category. And Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Laccadivi Islands, Andaman Nicobar Islands and Minicoy Amindivi Islands were formed as union territories.

In 1961, the Portuguese territories of Goa, Diu, Daman, Dadra and Nagar Haveli were liberated and formed into union territories of Goa. The ‘Bombay Reorganization Act’ was also passed in same year and created two states – Maharashtra and Gujarat. Similarly the ‘Punjab Reorganization Act’ was passed in 1966 and Punjab birfucated into Punjab and Haryana with Chandigarh as common capital.

While Nagaland was formed in 1962, Assam was reorganized in 1971 and Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya were given the status of states. Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram were made union territories. However in 1975, Sikkim was incorporated as the 22nd State of the Indian state.

In 2000, three new states – Chandigarh, Uttrakhand and Jharkhand were created. As per a study by economic research firm, Indicus Analytics the reorganization of states in the past has been followed by higher economic growth.

The demand of new states hasn’t finished yet as nine new states are still in consideration before home ministry. These include a separate Harit Pradesh in Uttrakhand, Bundelkhand and Poorvanchal in Uttar Pradesh, Mithilanchal in Bihar, Bodoland in Assam, Gorkhaland in West Bengal, Vidharbha in Maharashtra, Telangana in Andhra Pradesh and Kutch in Gujarat.

This clamour for more room exists even as the debate over whether actually smaller states ensure all round bigger growth. No doubt it means more Bhawans, more cars and the ever-growing ‘taam jham’ for the neta and the babu. Aam aadmi, await your turn, please!

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link