The boulevard of Wimbledon’s History

The oldest major tennis championship on earth, The Championships- Wimbledon has come to personify performances par excellence from the greats of the game.

The oldest major tennis championship on earth, The Championships or Wimbledon has come to personify performances par excellence from the greats of the game. It was on the centre court of this cream of the crop tournament that greats like William Renshaw, Pete Sampras, Bjorn Borg, Helen Wills and Martina Navratilova have attained immortality.

The history of the tournament dates back to 1877. Spencer Gore won the first event, which was then the Gentlemen`s Singles, from a field of 22.

The names Bjorn Borg, Jimmy Connors, Rod Laver John McEnroe and Pete Sampras have one thing in common apart from being legends of the game. They were all Wimbledon’s conquerors.

The All England Lawn Tennis Club, the official hosts of the Grand Slam event have made sure that the pristine nature of the tournament remains unchanged, yet congregates the modern nature of the sport with the changing times. The introduction of ‘Wild Card’ entry to the championships was done with public interest in mind. Needless to say, it was the wild card Goran Ivanisevic who won the trophy in 2001 after being runner-up in 1992, 94 and 98. It was the Club’s far-sightedness that gave this player a chance at redemption.

The tournament introduced Ladies’ Singles in 1884 and this was a maverick change that brought in hoards of spectators to the courts.

Rod Laver was the first ever winner of the Gentlemen’s single of the Open Era and Billie Jean King of the women’s single in 1968.

Among the many noteworthy things that have been done for the game is its continuance even in the Second World War. It was a decision that was stern and the staff was short. Despite the odds, the sport of tennis emerged unscathed and added another chapter to the already glorious history.

Wimbledon is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments – the other three Majors are the Australian Open, French Open and US Open. At present it includes five main events, four junior events and four invitation events.

A total of 128 players feature in each singles event, 64 pairs in each single-sex doubles event, and 48 pairs in Mixed Doubles.

The matches take place over 19 courts. Out of these, two main courts- Centre court and Court No.1 are mainly used for the Championship with the remaining ones used regularly for other events throughout the year.
Following are the list of Men’s and Women’s singles winners of past decade.

Men’s singles

2000 -Pete Sampras

2001 -Goran Ivaniševic

2002 -Lleyton Hewitt

2003 -Roger Federer

2004 -Roger Federer

2005 -Roger Federer

2006 -Roger Federer

2007 -Roger Federer

2008 -Rafael Nadal

2009 -Roger Federer

2010 -Rafael Nadal

Women’s singles

2000 -Venus Williams

2001 -Venus Williams

2002 -Serena Williams

2003 -Serena Williams

2004 -Maria Sharapova

2005 -Venus Williams

2006 -Amélie Mauresmo

2007 -Venus Williams

2008 - Venus Williams

2009 -Serena Williams

2010 - Serena Williams


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link