This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Trinamool Congress wins by-elections in West Bengal

Last Updated: Friday, August 21, 2009 - 13:53

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress has won the August 18 by-elections to both the Bowbazar and Sealdah assembly constituencies, results of which were declared Friday.
Shikha Mitra of Trinamool Congress won the Sealdah seat defeating CPI candidate Prabir De by a margin of 15,927 votes, EC sources said.

Swarno Kamal Saha of TC won the Bowbazar seat defeating Left Front supported Independent candidate Minati Gomes by 21,577 votes.

The two assembly seats fell vacant after Sealdah MLA Somen Mitra and Bowbazar MLA Sudip Bandopadhay left Congress to contest the Lok Sabha polls on Trinamool tickets.

Bureau Report

First Published: Friday, August 21, 2009 - 13:53
comments powered by Disqus