UK General Elections 2010 – A Snapshot

The brief introduction to the UK General Elections 2010.

Updated: May 03, 2010, 13:14 PM IST

Country: United Kingdom

Election type: Parliamentary Elections

Poll date: May 06, 2010

Constituencies: 650 seats in the Commons (Lower House) representing constituencies across England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland

Voting system: First past the post. Each eligible voter has one vote in their local constituency, and the candidate with the most votes becomes the MP for that area. Candidates do not need an overall majority to win. The political party with the most MPs usually forms the government -- though two or more parties with a combined majority of MPs may form a coalition government. A total of 326 seats is needed for a majority.

Key Parties:

  • Labour
  • Conservatives
  • Liberal Democrats
  • Democratic Unionist Party
  • Scottish National Party
  • Sinn Fein
  • Plaid Cymru
  • Social Democratic & Labour Party
  • Ulster Conservative & Unionist New Force
  • Respect

    Compiled by: Kamna Arora