UP elections: 5th phase nomination process begin

Last Updated: Saturday, January 28, 2012 - 17:21

Kanpur: Nomination process for the fifth
phase of Assembly elections in 49 seats spread over 13
districts begins on Saturday.

The voting would take place on February 23. The districts
going to the poll in this phase are Farrukhabad, Kanshiram
Nagar, Etah, Mainpuri, Etawah, Auriya, Ramabai Nagar, Kanpur,
Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Hamirpur and Mahoba.

The nomination process in Kanpur district started at 11
AM with Samajwadi Party candidate filing his nomination along
with a handful of supporters, officials said.

The Election Commission has banned bursting of crackers
or loud processions, ADM (city) Shailendra Kumar Singh said,
adding that cameras have been installed in nomination filing
centres and strict action would be taken against any


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Saturday, January 28, 2012 - 17:21

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus