Varma, Neha top seeds at NSCI tournament

Last Updated: Thursday, August 25, 2011 - 16:43

Mumbai: Saurabh Varma of Petroleum Sport
Promotion Board and Neha Pandit of Airports Authority of India
have been given top billings in the men`s and women`s singles
respectively in the NSCI All India Senior Ranking Badminton
Tournament starting here on August 27.

World no. 25 and former national champion P Kashyap has
been seeded seventh while top India players Ajay Jayaram and
Anup Sridhar have not been seeded for want of sufficient
ranking points in the Rs 5-lakh prize money tournament to be
held in the Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium courts in Worli.

The draw is of 24 players in both the singles events
while men`s doubles and mixed doubles would have 12 pairs each
and women`s doubles 11.

There are 145 entries in the qualifying rounds of the
men`s singles, to be held on the first two days of the five-
day event, while in the women`s singles there are 31.

The seedings:

Men`s singles: 1. Saurabh Varma, 2. B Sai Praneet, 3. H S
Prannoy (all PSPB), 4. Pratul Joshi (AI), 5. K Nandagopal, 6.
B Sumeet Reddy (both AAI), 7. P Kashyap (PSPB) 8. Mohit Kamat

Women`s singles: 1. Neha Pandit (AAI), 2. Arundhati
Pantawane (PSPB), 3. P C Thulasi (Ker), 4. Sayali Gokhale
(AI), 5. Anita Ohlan (Rlys), 6. Aditi Mutatkar (PSPB), 7.
Sampada Sahasrabudhe (AAI), 8. Dhanya Nair (Rlys).


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Thursday, August 25, 2011 - 16:43

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus