This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

33 MLAs quit ruling PPA ​in Arunachal, BJP says it's now our government

The defected PPA legislators have chosen Takam Pario as their new legislature party leader, clearing the deck for his taking over as the next chief minister.

33 MLAs quit ruling PPA ​in Arunachal, BJP says it's now our government
Pic courtsey: Dept of Information, Govt of Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar: The Bharatiya Janata Party was on Saturday appeared all set to take the mantle of the Arunachal Pradesh government after 33 legislators of the ruling PPA dispensation, including Chief Minister Pema Khandu, switched sides and pledged allegiance to the BJP.

The People's Party of Arunachal Pradesh (PPA) is now left with only 10 MLAs in the 60-member House.

The defected PPA legislators had on Friday selected Takam Pario as their legislature party leader, but after Khandu's joining of the BJP he will now remain as the chief minister. 

BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav in a tweet message said, "Arunachal Pradesh becomes 10th BJP ruled state and 14th with BJP alliances. Congratulations to CM Pema Khandu and welcome into BJP Parivar." 

Reacting to the development, Khandu said, “More than 2/3 MLAs decided to join BJP and hence this decision is a blessing in disguise.”

"We have joined BJP today, definitely it is a full-fledged BJP govt in the state now. 

"The paperwork has been submitted to the Legislative Assembly through the Speaker," Khandu said.

“Due to the political turmoil, there has been no development in the state,” he added.

The development comes after the PPA on Friday suspended Khandu and six others from the primary membership of the party.

The PPA leadership was reportedly miffed with Khandu for not following the party line.

Arunachal had witnessed frequent political turmoil over the past 12 months, during which as many as three chief ministers had taken the oath of office.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



Nitish was last leader in Oppn who could have posed a challenge to BJP, PM Modi

DNA Edit | Flood, Apathy, Fury: ‘Disaster Management’ just a term?

Understaffed, overburdened ASI has a lot on its platter

Nitish Kumar back in NDA: Opposition can kiss their 2019 dreams goodbye

DNA Edit: BJP to steer Bihar now