Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation (MBMC) poll results 2017: As it happened

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 18:25
Representational Image- PTI

Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation (MBMC) 2017 elections results will be announced by today evening. The counting of votes are expected to begin around 10 am. Amid heavy rains, MBMC went to polls on Sunday, 20 August, and recorded around 47 per cent turnout. The voting was held for 94 seats, out of 95. One unopposed seat, has already been won by Congress. A total of 501 candidates are in the fray for the post of corporators. The chief parties contending in the Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation polls are Shiv Sena, BJP, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).  

Here are the LIVE news updates of Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation (MBMC) poll results 2017

21 August 2017, 16:29 PM

The Mira Bhayandar Municipal Corporation poll results of total 95 wards are declared. Here are the number of seats bagged by each party.

BJP - 61

Shiv Sena - 22

Congress - 10

NCP - 00

Others - 02

21 August 2017, 13:59 PM

Taking to Twitter BJP MP Kirit Somaiya posted,"BJP sweeps Mira Bhayander Municipal Election. Disaster of Shiv Sena, hope now Bandra Supremo will accept Reality and Respect PM Modi, CM Fadnavis."


21 August 2017, 13:54 PM

In a big jolt to Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP, the Bharatiya Janata Party is yet again set to repeat history by registering a massive victory in Mira Bhayander Municipal Corporation Election.

As per the reports, the BJP has bagged whopping 47 seats out of the 95 whereas their estranged ally Shiv Sena won only nine seats till now.

21 August 2017, 12:05 PM

BJP crosses the half way mark comfortably by bagging 47 seats out of 95.

21 August 2017, 12:04 PM

Good news for Bharatiya Janata Party as all their candidates have won the election in ward no 5, 12 and 17.

21 August 2017, 11:49 AM

As per the early trends, out of 95 Seats, BJP is leading on 22 seats, the Shiv Sena is ahead in 6 seats, whereas the Congress is leading in 2 wards. The Counting is currently underway. 

21 August 2017, 11:39 AM

Dimple Mehta is leading the race for Mayor in Mira Bhayandar, says report. 

21 August 2017, 11:26 AM

In Prabhag No 3, BJP ahead in 3 seats whereas Shiv Sena ahead in 1 seat so far

21 August 2017, 11:22 AM

 As per the early trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading on 25 seats, whereas the Shiv Sena is ahead in 6 wards. 

21 August 2017, 10:18 AM

In 2012, out of 95 the Shiv Sena bagged 14 seats, BJP got 29, Congress bagged 19, NCP 27, MNS 01 and others 3 

21 August 2017, 10:17 AM

Counting of votes underway. Early trends to emerge shortly. Stay tuned to us 

21 August 2017, 10:04 AM

Both Sena and BJP are hopeful of getting thumping victory in the civic body. 

21 August 2017, 09:54 AM

To woo voters, estranged ally BJP and Sena highlighted a development agenda. The Bharatiya Janata Party has promised to turn the satellite town into a smart city whereas Uddhav Thackeray-led Sena has promised to waive property tax of flats up to 500 sq ft and implement a cluster development scheme.

21 August 2017, 09:45 AM

Naypadmasagarji Maharaj, a  Jain monk, who has a large number of followers across the city had urged voters to support the only party that will uphold vegetarianism. Similarly, during the BMC elections, the Jain monk had appealed his followers to support only those candidates, who promised to shut meat shops during 'paryushan'. 

21 August 2017, 08:55 AM

 Mira Bhayandar was considered as Congress-NCP bastion, but now it has the highest number of BJP corporators. 

21 August 2017, 08:51 AM

After emerging victorious in 10 municipal corporations earlier this year, the Bharatiya Janata Party is likely to increase its count by retaining the MBMC. 

21 August 2017, 08:50 AM

 Mira-Bhayander which has a population of 8.4 lakh, recorded only 47% voter turnout in the civic poll held on Sunday. 

21 August 2017, 08:46 AM

BMC is said to be a four-cornered battle between BJP, Congress Shiv Sena and NCP. Early trends to emerge at 11 AM.