Karnataka by-poll results 2017: Congress wins Nanjangud​, Gundlupet assembly seats; BJP bites dust

The ruling Congress on Thursday retained the two assembly seats of Nanjangud (SC) and Gundlupet in Karnataka ​ where by-polls were held on Sunday. 

Karnataka by-poll results 2017: Congress wins Nanjangud​, Gundlupet assembly seats; BJP bites dust
Representational image

Bengaluru: The ruling Congress on Thursday retained the two assembly seats of Nanjangud (SC) and Gundlupet in Karnataka ​ where by-polls were held on Sunday. 

In the prestigious Nanjangud constituency, ruling party candidate K Keshavamurthy defeated his nearest rival Srinivasa Prasad of the BJP by a margin of 21,334 votes.

In Gundlupet, Mohan Kumari Uruf alias Geetha of the Congress, defeated nearest rival CS  Niranjankumar of the BJP by a margin of 10,877 votes.

Today's results dealt a big blow to BS Yeddyurappa-led BJP, which had high hopes of winning the Nanjanagud and Gundlupet assembly seats.

"We bow our heads and accept the decision of the people," said BJP’s strongman BS Yeddyurappa, who was hoping to wrest the seats from the Congress to strengthen his position ahead of the next election.

Here are the live updates:-

-Today's by-election results have come as a big boost for Siddaramaiah-led Congress govt in Karnataka.  

-News agency ANI confirmed Congress' victory in Nanjangud seat.   

-The ruling Congress also emerged winner in Karnataka's Gundlupet seat. Here's the final vote share between two main parties. 

Congress- 90258
BJP- 79381
Win margin: 10877

-Congress has reportedly won the Nanjangud seat in Karnataka. Here's is the final vote share:  -

Congress - 86212 
BJP- 64878
Win margin- 21334

-In Karnataka, as per latest update, Congress’ Kalale N Keshavamurthy is leading by over 15,000 votes against former BJP minister V Srinivas Prasad in Nanjangud. Also, Geeta Mahadeva Prasad of Congress is leading by 4,500 votes against BJP’s C S Niranjanakumar.

-In Nanjangud, Congress' candidate Kalale Keshavamurthy, who had contested the 2013 Assembly polls as a Janata Dal (S) candidate, is leading against V Srinivas Prasad of BJP.

-In Gundlupet, late Karnataka minister Mahadeva Prasad's wife Gita Mahadeva is trying to retain the seat for the Congress. She is facing stiff challenge from the BJP candidate CS Niranjan Kumar.

-Karnataka govt minister Priyank Kharge reacts to Congress' massive lead in both seats.

-Here's the current party wise tally. 

-Latest party wise position.

-Party wise tally after 5 rounds.

-Here's the party wise position (results tweeted by Karnataka Congress)  

-At the end of round 8 of counting in Gundlupet constituency, Congress continued to lead with 45,489 votes and BJP trailing with 41,665 votes while 560 exercised NOTA. 

-At the end of round 6 of counting in Nanjangud assembly constituency, Congress's candidate Kalale Keshavamurthy polled 35,936 votes while BJP's Srinivas Prasad polled 20,351 votes.

-Early trends indicate Congress is leading on Gundlupet and Nanjangud seats after first round of counting.

The by-election was held on April 9. Of the 1,56,315 votes polled in Nanjangud, Keshavamurthy secured 86,212 (55 per cent) and Prasad 64,878 (41.5 per cent).

The rest of the votes were shared by nine other candidates, including Independents. The total electorate in the reserved seat is 2,01,823.

In Gundlupet, of the 1,74,955 votes polled, Geetha bagged 90,260 (51.6 per cent) and Niranjankumar 79,383 (45.4 per cent), while seven other candidates, including Independents shared the remaining votes.The total electorate in the seat is 2,00892.