This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

GHMC Election Results LIVE: TRS claims 'historic' win; TDP, BJP, Congress bite the dust

By Deepak Nagpal | Last Updated: Friday, February 5, 2016 - 22:52
Zee Media Bureau
File image

Hyderabad: The results for the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections held on February 2 were announced on Friday. TRS emerged victorious with victory in 99 seats.

Also Read: KCR promises to treat all people in Hyderabad equally

Latest Updates

22:52 PM

News agency IANS has reported the final tally of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC).

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has won 99 seats as against 102 reported earlier by various media outlets.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has won 44 out of the total 150 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) finished with 4 seats, Congress with two and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) with just 1.

22:00 PM

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) scored a century in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) Election Results declared on Friday.

The TRS won a total of 102 seats out of the 147 for which results have been declared. A total of 150 seats were on offer.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) won 39 seats. 

The BJP came in third with a mere three seats; Congress claimed two and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) just 1.

20:48 PM

Latest update: Wins

TRS - 98

TDP - 1

BJP - 3

AIMIM - 32

Congress - 1

20:27 PM

Telangana Chief Minister and TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao has described his party's victory in the GHMC polls as "historic".

"No single party had ever won more than 55 seats in GHMC polls. This is a historic victory," The New Indian Express quoted KCR as saying.

20:24 PM

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi is on course for a massive victory in the GHMC elections. The party has so far won 95 seats and is leading in 10 others, The Hindu reported.

The AIMIM has won 28 seats and is leading on seven others.    

The Telugu Desam Party has won one seat and is leading in three others.    

The Bharatiya Janata Party has claimed victory in three seats.

The Congress, meanwhile, has won one seat and is leading in two.

19:22 PM

Trends/results at 7.00 pm

Results declared for 107 seats; trends available for 43 others

TRS wins 75 seats, is leading in 14

Congress wins just one seat

AIMIM win 28 seats so far, is leading in 5 more

BJP wins one seat, is leading in three others

19:09 PM

It may be noted that this is the first GHMC election after the formation of separate Telangana state.

The TRS had no representation in the previous body, where the Congress shared power with AIMIM after their victory in 2009 elections.

In the first GHMC, Congress had 52 seats and AIMIM 43. TDP had bagged 45 seats while BJP had five corporators.

18:22 PM

As per the latest trends/results, the TRS has won in 69 out of the 150 wards in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC). It is also leading in 36 other wards.

The AIMIM has won 10 seats and is leading in 25 others.

The TDP has won one seat and is leading in three.

The BJP has won two seats and is also leading in one.

The Congress, which won 52 seats in 2009, has so far won just one seat and is leading in two others.

17:25 PM

The Hindu reports that the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has taken a solid lead as the first trends came in.

At 5.30 pm, the TRS is leading in 102 of the total 150 wards that went to polls. The Congress, which won in 2009, is ahead in just 4 seats.

AIMIM is leading in 35, TDP is ahead in 10, BJP in 3, and Others in 1 seat.

17:00 PM

Reports say the first results will be out by 6 pm.

First Published: Friday, February 5, 2016 - 22:55
comments powered by Disqus