This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

India vs Sri Lanka, 1st T20I: As it happened...

By Chaitan Papnai | Last Updated: Tuesday, February 9, 2016 - 22:25
Zee Media Bureau

Welcome to our LIVE UPDATES of the first T20I between India and Sri Lanka from Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune. 

First, debutant Kasun Rajitha and Shanaka created havoc in the Indian batting line-up to skittle India to 101 and then skipper Chandimal (35) and Kapugedera (25) made sure that his side chase the total successfully. Now visitors are one-up in the three-match T20 series.   



Latest Updates

22:25 PM

Over 18 | Score 105/5 (Prasanna 3*, Siriwardana 21*)

Bumrah is back to bowl his last over. Siriwardana pulled the bowler for a six off the fifth ball. And then hit the winning runs off the last ball as Sri Lanka beat India by five wickets with 12 balls to spare. 

22:20 PM

Over 17 | Score 92/5 (Prasanna 1*, Siriwardana 9*)

Ashwin to bowl his 3rd over. Shanaka Out! Raina took a blinder at square leg as Ashwin picked up his 2nd wicket of the match. Now visitors need 10 runs from 18 balls. 

MD Shanaka c Raina b Ashwin 3 (8b)

22:15 PM

Over 16 | Score 90/4 (Shanaka 3*, Siriwardana 9*)

Pandya has been reintroduced into the attack. And he leaked six runs. SL need 12 runs from 24 balls.

22:09 PM

Over 15 | Score 84/4 (Shanaka 0*, Siriwardana 9*)

Raina with his 2nd over. Chandimal hit the part-timer offie for a six over long off. Chandimal Out! Trapped in front as Sri Lanka need 18 runs with 6 wickets and 30 balls remaining.

LD Chandimal lbw b Raina 35 (35b)

22:06 PM

Over 14 | Score 76/3 (Chandimal 27*, Siriwardana 9*)

Raina and Ashwin are bowling in tandem. 12 runs have come in the last two overs. The only way for India to win this match is to bowl Lanka out. 

21:59 PM

Over 12 | Score 64/3 (Chandimal 23*, Siriwardana 1*)

Ashwin has been introduced into the attack. Kapugedera Out! He trapped the right-hander in front of the wicket. Can the offie turn the match in India's favour?

CK Kapugedera lbw b Ashwin 25 (26b)

21:56 PM

Over 11 | Score 60/2 (Kapugedera 23*, Chandimal 22*)

Kapugedera has started hitting Indian bowlers for boundaries and sixes. This time too, he first collected a boundary and then launched the bowler for the six. Expensive over, 12 came off it.

21:51 PM

Over 10 | Score 48/2 (Kapugedera 18*, Chandimal 15*)

Pandya with his 2nd over. Off the the last two balls, came two boundaries. Poor over for India as the medium pacer gave nine runs in it.

21:49 PM

Over 9 | Score 39/2 (Kapugedera 10*, Chandimal 14*)

Jadeja to continue. Quick over by the left-arm spinner. Three from the over. 

21:46 PM

Over 8 | Score 36/2 (Kapugedera 8*, Chandimal 13*)

Double bowling change. Hardik Pandya to bowl the over. Kapugedera slapped him for a boundary off the 4th ball. That was the only loose ball from the  bowler. Five from the over.   

Preview Boosted by their 3-0 clean sweep of Australia Down Under, a confident India would seek to continue their winning momentum when they take on a depleted and new-look Sri Lanka in the first of three T20 Internationals today. India will also look to win the T20 series to retain their number one position in the ICC T20I Championship table, which they achieved after sweeping aside Australia last week. The hosts will definitely miss their Test captain Virat Kohli who was in glorious form in the T20 series in Australia, as well as in the preceding ODI series Down Under which India lost 1-4. On the other hand, the visitors, who are being led by batsman Dinesh Chandimal, will be without their regular T20 captain Lasith Malinga and Test skipper Angelo Mathews for the entire series as they are nursing a knee injury and a groin strain respectively. Experienced all-rounder Tillakaratne Dilshan has also been ruled out of the opening game due to a hand injury. The squads (from): Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Seekuge Prasanna, Milinda Siriwardana, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedera, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilhara Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Binura Fernando, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay, Niroshan Dickwella. India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi. Match commences at 7:30 pm (IST).

First Published: Tuesday, February 9, 2016 - 22:28
comments powered by Disqus