West Bengal Assembly elections, 3rd phase: As it happened

Phase III of assembly polls in 62 constituencies of West Bengal on Thursday witnessed a series of clashes between political rivals during which bombs were exploded but the violence failed to deter the electors who came out in large numbers, recording a 79.22 per cent voter turnout. The Election Commission said here that the turnout could be more as the figures were based on text messages sent by polling officials from the field till 5 pm.

By Biplob Ghosal | Last Updated: Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 22:13

Kolkata: A CPI(M) polling agent was killed and four other party workers were injured as incidents of violence today marred polling in 62 seats in the third phase of West Bengal Assembly election which saw 67.80 percent turnout till 3 PM.

21 April 2016, 20:02 PM

79.22% voter turnout recorded in third phase of West Bengal assembly polls at 5 pm: ECI.

21 April 2016, 20:01 PM

Few cases of throwing of crude bombs were also reported. FIRs have been lodged against culprits in all cases: ECI.

21 April 2016, 20:01 PM

In third phase of West Bengal Assembly polls, there were some instances of clashes among the political workers: Sandeep Saxena, ECI.

21 April 2016, 16:28 PM

67.80 percent voting recorded in third phase of West Bengal polls till 3 pm.

21 April 2016, 14:17 PM

Amid escalating violence that left one person dead and several others injured and the sweltering heat, 56 percent turnout was recorded till 1 pm for the third phase of the West Bengal Assembly elections.

21 April 2016, 13:21 PM

List of candidates with photographs have been displayed prominently across all polling booths. Poll officials say this would take care of likely confusion when candidates with same or similar names contest from the same constituency.

21 April 2016, 12:47 PM

The killing of a CPI(M) polling agent in Murshidabad district has kicked off a blame game between CPI(M) and TMC, with the Left party alleging that TMC had unleashed a "reign of terror" while EC was only acting as a "mute spectator".

21 April 2016, 12:41 PM

Over 39 percent of polling was registered in the first four hours for the third phase of the West Bengal assembly elections.

21 April 2016, 11:47 AM

The highest voter turnout of 20.53 percent was recorded in the 22 seats of Murshidabad district while the lowest of 14.71 percent was recorded in Kolkata till 9 AM.

In Nadia district 17 percent polling recorded, while in Burdwan it was 17.01.


21 April 2016, 10:50 AM

West Bengal Assembly Elections 2016: 18.29 percent voting recorded in third phase of polling till 9 am.

21 April 2016, 10:19 AM

Goons brandish pistols in Burdwan as third phase of polling is underway in West Bengal.

21 April 2016, 08:56 AM

Congress booth worker Basu Malpaharia, who was allegedly abducted by TMC workers, has been rescued. He was found from TMC candidate SK Niyamat Ali's factory.

The grand old party had lodged a complaint at Hariharpara Police Station after Malpaharia was allegedly abducted by TMC members.

21 April 2016, 08:46 AM

One CPI(M) worker dies after a crude bomb was allegedly hurled by Trinamool Congress workers in Jitpur village in Murshidabad district.

21 April 2016, 08:12 AM

Voting begins for third phase of West Bengal Assembly polls. Only the Bharatiya Janata Party and Trinamool Congress have fielded party candidates on all the 62 seats. Having entered these polls with an understanding, the CPI-M and the Congress are contesting on 38 and 26 seats, respectively. 

21 April 2016, 08:10 AM

Heavy security has been placed for the third phase of the West Bengal Assembly elections in 62 constituencies. One lakh security personnel have been deployed as the Election Commission has identified 3,401 hamlets in the phase as vulnerable 

Twenty two constituencies in Murshidabad, 17 in Nadia and 16 in Burdwan districts as also seven in north Kolkata are up for grabs. Thursday marks the second and final round of voting in Burdwan, where nine constituencies went to the hustings on April 11.

Key contestants: Trinamool leaders Rabiranjan Chattopadhyay, Sashi Panja, Sadhan Pandey, Subrata Saha, former state minister and CPI-M candidates Anisur Rahaman and Debesh Das, Congress legislature party leader Md Sohrab and former state party president Somendranath Mitra and Ritesh Tiwari from the BJP.

In 2011 polls in the 62 constituencies, then allies Trinamool and Congress had captured 45 seats, with the Trinamool taking 29 and the Congress 16.



By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link