This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

E K Palaniswami sworn-in as new Tamil Nadu chief minister: As it happened

By Kamna Arora | By Sanjeeb Baruah | Last Updated: Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 21:51
Zee Media Bureau

Chennai: Edappadi K Palaniswami, the general secretary of the AIADMK party and a close confidante of VK Sasikala, was on Thursday sworn-in as the new chief minister of Tamil Nadu, ending weeks of political turmoil over the post.

Governor C Vidyasagar Rao administered the oath of office.

Palaniswami was sworn -in along with 30 other cabinet ministers.

On Tuesday, the Supreme Court had found VK Sasikala guilty in the DA case and ordered her to serve a jail sentence.

Latest Updates

21:51 PM

PM Narendra Modi congratulates Edappadi K. Palaniswami on taking over as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

21:01 PM

Floor test of new Tamil Nadu government likely next week.

20:10 PM

15 days time given to CM Palaniswami to prove his majority would result in horse trading: M.K. Stalin

20:07 PM
20:05 PM

Hope the new Tamil nadu government will not function under the control of VK Sasikala who's in Bengaluru jail. CM should remember his oaths, says DMK leader Stalin.


20:04 PM

DMK leader MK Stalin congratulates new Tamil Nadu government under CM Palanisamy.

20:01 PM

AIADMK MLAs head back to Kuvathur's Golden Bay resort after Tamil Nadu Cabinet and CM Palanisamy's oath ceremony.

19:55 PM

Palaniswami to visit Sasikala in jail.

19:46 PM

Vote of confidence on February 18, says Tamil Nadu Assembly secretary Jamaludeen. 

First Published: Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 21:51
comments powered by Disqus