This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Results 2016: As it happened

By Deepak Nagpal | By Ankita Bhandari | Last Updated: Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 21:03
Zee Media Bureau

Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK juggernaut rolled on Thursday getting a simple majority with the Chief Minister bucking the anti-incumbency trend and retaining power in Tamil Nadu for a second consecutive term, the first time by anyone in the last three decades in the state.

Tamil Nadu Election Results in Tamil on


Latest Updates

21:03 PM

DMK's Radhapuram candidate M Appavu protests outside counting booth. He lost to AIADMK's IS Inbadurai by a margin of 49 votes

20:27 PM

DMK's S.Thangapandian wins Rajapalayam, DMK candidate K.Sundar wins Uthiramerur, AIADMK's A.Prabhu wins Kallakurichi, DMK's B.Ranganathan wins Villivakkam, AIADMK's A.Prabhu wins Kallakurichi, DMK's Inbasekaran wins Pennagaram, V.N.Virugai Ravi from AIADMK wins Virugambakkam, DMK's S.Thangapandian wins Rajapalayam: Election Commission


20:21 PM

If DMK was aware of the malpractices, it should have halted the process then and there, says AIADMK's Durai Pandian on Stalin's charges of collusion between Election Commission and Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK


20:12 PM

Puducherry Chief Minister N Rangasamy resigns following defeat of his AINRC in assembly elections

20:11 PM

Tamil Nadu election: We have given enough complaints to chief election officer regarding violations by AIADMK & we have lost confidence in Election Commission, says party supreme MK Stalin


20:10 PM

Tamil Nadu election: DMK may move court if EC doesn't act on their allegation against AIADMK (of using its influence to win elections), says party supreme MK Stalin

20:08 PM

Tamil Nadu assembly election: DMK supreme Stalin claims collusion between AIADMK and Election Commission

19:39 PM

Tamil Nadu assembly election: DMK should accept defeat and start acting as opposition, says BJP senior leader Subramanian Swamy

19:23 PM

Tamil Nadu status at 7.40 pm

Tamil Nadu polls result

19:23 PM

AIADMK's R Murugaiah Pandian defeated Avudaiappan of DMK by a margin of 13,166 votes in Ambasamudram; DMK's Nandakumar AP beats Kalaiarasu of AIADMK in Anaikattu

First Published: Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 21:04
comments powered by Disqus