UP polls 2017, 4th phase: 61% voter turnout recorded till 5 pm

By Kamna Arora | Last Updated: Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 18:52
Pic courtsey: PTI

Polling began on Thursday morning in 53 constituencies spread over 12 districts that figure in the fourth phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections. The districts include the backward Bundelkhand region and the Nehru-Gandhi pocket borough of Raebareli.

Other districts where polling is going on amid tight security are Pratapgarh, Kaushambi, Allahabad, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Mahoba, Banda, Hamirpur, Chitrakoot, and Fatehpur.

23 February 2017, 18:52 PM

Voter turnout expected to cross 63%, says Election Commission.

23 February 2017, 18:48 PM

61% voter turnout till 5 pm in 4th phase of UP polls.

23 February 2017, 17:10 PM

Polling time for the 4th phase of UP polls 2017 ends.

23 February 2017, 15:51 PM

23 February 2017, 12:12 PM

Around 27% voter turnout recorded till noon in phase-IV: PTI

23 February 2017, 11:57 AM

23 February 2017, 11:55 AM

More than 23 percent voter turnout recorded till 11 am: Reports

23 February 2017, 11:11 AM

Around 15% turnout till 10 AM in phase-IV: PTI reports

23 February 2017, 11:07 AM

23 February 2017, 11:06 AM

23 February 2017, 10:23 AM

Also Read: Samajwadi Party candidate's son shot in Uttar Pradesh

23 February 2017, 10:10 AM

23 February 2017, 09:55 AM

10.23% voting recorded till 9 am.

23 February 2017, 09:43 AM

Voter turnout in the Assembly seats till 9 am:

Hamirpur - 8 percent
Chitrakoot - 12 percent
Lalitpur - 9 percent
Kaushambi - 10 percent
Jhansi - 12 percent
Banda - 10.3 percent
Pratapgarh - 10.4 percent

23 February 2017, 09:40 AM

UP BJP Chief Keshav Prasad Maurya casts his vote in Allahabad.

23 February 2017, 09:17 AM

Congress candidate from Raebareli Sadar Aditi Singh exercises her franchise. She is up against BSP's Mohd Shahbaz and BJP's Anita Srivastava.

23 February 2017, 09:14 AM

Union Minister Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti casts her vote in Hamirpur.

23 February 2017, 08:43 AM

The prominent contestants include sitting Congress MLA Aradhana Mishra from Rampur Khas (Pratapgarh), the daughter of MP Pramod Tiwari, and independent MLA and minister Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya, who is again contesting from his traditional Kunda (Pratapgarh) seat.

23 February 2017, 08:39 AM

Inter district and inter state borders have been sealed. Patrolling by security forces has been intensified in poll-bound areas and most of the polling centres are manned by the central Para Military Forces.

23 February 2017, 08:16 AM

Voting has still not begun in booth no 481 in Jalaun as the EVM machine is not working, reports news agency ANI.

23 February 2017, 08:15 AM

In Mahoba, supporters of SP and BSP clash. Four people, including Samajwadi Party candidate Siddhgopal Sahu's son, were injured.

23 February 2017, 08:13 AM

The Assembly constituency with the maximum number of candidates is Allahabad North, where 26 candidates are trying their luck at the hustings. The seats with least number of candidates are Khaga (Fatehpur), Manjhanpur (Kaushambi) and Kunda (Pratapgarh) with six candidates each.

23 February 2017, 08:13 AM

There are a total of 680 candidates in the fray in the fourth phase, of which 61 are women. 

23 February 2017, 08:12 AM

It is for the first time since 1998 that Sonia Gandhi has not campaigned in an election. However, on the eve of voting, she wrote a letter to the electorate seeking their support for the party and votes in favor of the party candidates. 

23 February 2017, 08:12 AM

The fourth phase is especially significant for the Congress, as it had managed to wrest only six seats in the 2012 Assembly polls in these constituencies. Besides, the parliamentary constituency of Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, Raebareli, is also voting in this phase. 

23 February 2017, 08:12 AM

In all, 1.84 crore voters will use their franchise in the tight contest between the Samajwadi Party (SP)-Congress alliance, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Of these, around one crore are male voters, 84 lakh women voters and 1,034 voters from the third gender.

23 February 2017, 08:11 AM

Voting in 53 Assembly constituencies in the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh elections began at 7 am on Thursday.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link