This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

West Bengal Assembly Election Results 2016: As it happened

By Ritesh K Srivastava | Last Updated: Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 23:04
Zee Media Bureau
Pic Courtesy: ANI

Kolkata: Led by mercurial Mamata Banerjee, Trinamool Congress on Thursday stormed back to power in West Bengal getting more than two-thirds majority decimating the opposition Left-Congress alliance while BJP captured three seats.

Contesting the poll on its own, TMC bagged 211 of the 294 seats at stake while Congress-Left combine got 76 seats. TMC had secured 184 seats in 2011 Assembly election when it had fought in alliance with Congress.

The Congress-Left combine did not make much headway despite prediction by political pundits. Congress, however, did better than its Left partners securing 44 seats. Left partners CPI-M bagged 26 seats, RSP-3, CPI-1 and Forward Bloc-2.

For more news in Malayalam, click

Latest Updates

23:04 PM

Final tally (294 seats):

Bharatiya Janata Party - 3. Communist Party of India - 1. Communist Party of India (Marxist) - 26. Indian National Congress - 44. All India Forward Bloc - 2. All India Trinamool Congress - 211. Revolutionary Socialist Party - 3. Gorkha Janmukti Morcha - 3. Independent - 1. 

19:39 PM

Latest trends in West Bengal as per Election Commission at 7.42 pm:

18:56 PM

Latest trends in West Bengal as per Election Commission at 7 pm:

17:57 PM

Former West Bengal minister Madan Mitra, jailed in the Saradha chit fund scam, defeated by CPI-M`s Manash Mukherjee by over 4,000 votes in Kamarahati constituency in North 24 Parganas.

17:56 PM

West Bengal BJP president Dilip Ghosh beats sitting Congress MLA Gyan Singh Sohanpal from Kharagpur Sadar seat in West Midnapore district by 6,309 votes.

Aged 91, Sohanpal is the seniormost member of the outgoing Assembly.

17:56 PM

"We humbly accept the verdict. We extend our best wishes for good governance and pro-development policies to the winners -- the Left Front in Kerala, AIADMK in Tamil Nadu, Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, BJP in Assam," said Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala.

17:54 PM

"I think this understanding between the Left and the Congress did not work. We could together get only 35-36 per cent of votes. Somehow, I think the votes might not have got transferred," said CPI General Secretary Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy.

17:46 PM

Latest trends in West Bengal as per Election Commission: 

17:32 PM

TMC's Bhaichung Bhutia trails in Siliguri, Congress leading in Murshidabad

17:31 PM

Mamata's Trinamool way ahead of its rivals, leading in 83 seats

First Published: Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 23:05
comments powered by Disqus