Andhra minister`s resignation over Telangana accepted

Last Updated: Saturday, September 28, 2013 - 15:48

Hyderabad: Andhra Pradesh Governor ESL Narasimhan on Saturday accepted Animal Husbandry Minister P Viswaroop`s resignation following Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy`s recommendation, Raj Bhavan sources said.

Viswaroop had on Thursday submitted his resignation to the Governor to oppose the Congress party`s decision to carve out a separate Telangana state. He said he would now participate in the ongoing movement in Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra) against the proposed bifurcation.

He is the first minister to quit since the decision was made July 30. Though about a dozen ministers have submitted their resignations to the chief minister, the latter has not forwarded them to the Governor for acceptance.

The chief minister on Friday advised all central and state ministers, MPs and state legislators from Seemandhra not to quit as they would lose an opportunity to put forward their views during the debate on the Telangana resolution in the Assembly and on the Telangana Bill in Parliament.

Viswaroop is likely to join the YSR Congress, say sources. His resignation came amid reports that some more ministers, including state Congress chief Botsa Satyanarayana, are also planning to quit to mount pressure on the centre.

Meanwhile, six Members of Parliament representing the Seemandhra region of Andhra Pradesh have met Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar to seek acceptance of their resignations over Telangana.

The six MPs are Undavilli Arun Kumar representing Rajamundry, Lagadapati Rajagopal from Vijayawada, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao from Guntur, A Venkatarami Reddy from Ananthpur, S P Y Reddy from Nandyl and A Saipratap from Rajampet.

These lawmakers had handed in their resignations soon after the Congress Working Committee decided in favour of creating a separate state of Telangana on July 30.


First Published: Saturday, September 28, 2013 - 15:48

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus