Andhra Pradesh declares 196 mandals as drought-hit

The Andhra Pradesh govt has declared 196 mandals as drought-affected during the Kharif season of this year.

Hyderabad: The Andhra Pradesh government has declared 196 mandals (revenue units comprising a varying number of villages)in seven districts, as drought-affected during the Kharif season of this year.

 "Government after careful examination of the recommendations of the Committee on Drought and keeping in view of the reports furnished by the District Collectors have decided to declare 196 mandals  (out of a total 670 in the state) in seven districts of Andhra Pradesh viz Srikakulam-10 Prakasam- 21, Nellore-14, Chittoor -39, Kadapa-33, Anantapur- 39 and Kurnool?40, as Drought affected Mandals in Khariff-2015," a Government Order (GO) said.

 Majority of the drought-hit mandals are in the Rayalaseema districts of Kurnool, Kadapa, Chittoor and Anantapur, while others are in the coastal districts of Srikakulam, Prakasam and Nellore.

 Consequent to the declaration of drought, the government directed the concerned district Collectors to notify the specific drought-hit areas in the District Gazette to enable farmers to avail credit facilities.

 The district Collectors have also been directed to initiate other relief measures as per the norms.

 During South West Monsoon-2015 (June 1, 2015 to September 30, 2015), the state received a rainfall of 519.7 mm as against the normal rainfall of 549.1 mm with a deviation of (-) 5.4 per cent, whereas rainfall received during the previous year (2014) was 375.7 mm with a deviation of (-)32 per cent for the corresponding period, the GO said.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link