This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Cong in trouble; 29 Jagan-loyalist MLAs to quit

Last Updated: Sunday, August 21, 2011 - 20:35

Hyderabad: The ruling Congress in Andhra
Pradesh on Sunday appeared to be heading for fresh trouble with 29
MLAs, loyal to Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, deciding to quit in
protest against mention of late YSR`s name in the FIR of CBI
in its probe in the case related to the Kadapa MP.

"It is unfortunate that his name is mentioned by CBI in
FIR. In protest, we are all resigning from our membership. 29
MLAs and two MPs are going to resign," Congress MP M Rajamohan
Reddy told reporters here.

The two Congress MPs who have decided to quit are
Rajamohan Reddy (Nellore) and Sabbam Hari (Anakapalle).

The 29 MLAs include B Sobha Nagi Reddy, a rebel MLA of
Praja Rajyam, and two rebel MLAs of TDP.

The MLAs would submit their resignations to the Assembly
Speaker at 11.00 am tomorrow, Congress MLA P Subhash Chandra Bose

Three Jagan-loyalist Congress MLAs - Konda Surekha,
Jayasudha and K Satyawati - had earlier submitted their
resignations in support of Telangana cause.

The decision by the 29 Jagan-loyalist MLAs and two MPs
came in the wake of searches by CBI at the residence and
offices of Jagan and also the companies who invested in the
firms owned by the Kadapa MP.

The CBI has alleged that Jaganmohan Reddy conspired with
his father late Y S Rajasekhara Reddy and other individuals
and companies to "cheat the government of Andhra Pradesh in
the matter of granting certain favours."

In its FIR in the case related to Jagan, a copy of which
was filed in a special court here, the CBI charged that he
"exercised his influence" on his (late) father, then Chief
Minister, and also unknown public servants of the state
government, who in turn abused their official positions by
corrupt or illegal means and issued orders favourable to many

In the event of the Assembly Speaker accepting the
resignation of the 29 MLAs, it may cause a fresh headache to
the Congress as it would enjoy a slender margin over the magic
figure of 148 in the 294-member House.

The party-wise break-up is as follows: Congress - 155, TDP
- 91, Praja Rajyam - 18, TRS - 11, Majlis Ittehadul Muslimeen
(MIM) - 7, CPI - 4, BJP - 2, CPI(M) - 1, Lok Satta - 1 and
Independents - 3. One seat is vacant.

With Chiranjeevi`s Praja Rajyam now merging with Congress,
the strength of the ruling party goes up to 173 and it can
also count on the support of MIM (7) and three Independents.
That takes the strength of Congress to 183.

With Jagan claiming the support of 29 MLAs, the Congress
is still left with 154 MLAs - six more that the half-way mark
of 148.

A number of Congress MLAs from Telangana region had
resigned from their posts earlier in support of the separate
statehood cause but their resignations were rejected by the
Speaker on the ground that they were submitted in a fit of


First Published: Sunday, August 21, 2011 - 16:33
comments powered by Disqus