Cong MLAs loyal to Jagan seek disqualification

Last Updated: Monday, December 26, 2011 - 18:04

Hyderabad: Twelve Congress MLAs facing
disqualification proceedings met Andhra Pradesh Assembly
Speaker Nadendla Manohar this afternoon and requested him to
take action against them in accordance with the Anti-Defection
Law for voting against the government on the no-confidence
motion on December 5.

The Speaker recently issued notices recently to these
legislators, owing allegiance to YSR Congress president and
Kadapa MP Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, asking them to respond by
December 29.

Accordingly, the MLAs met the Speaker in the Assembly
and submitted their explanations separately in writing and
requested him to disqualify them for violating the Congress
whip and voting against the government.

"Since we have openly violated the whip and voted
against the government on the no-confidence motion, we
requested the Speaker to take action as per law without any
delay," the MLAs later told reporters.

"We wanted him (speaker) to act against us immediately
so that by-elections can be held simultaneously along with
seven other seats (currently vacant). We are ready to face
by-polls and go to the people on the farmers` issue," the MLAs
said, adding that the speaker assured them that he would take
a decision on the disqualification issue soon, they added.

While 16 Congress MLAs and one of Praja Rajyam Party
voted against the government, only 12 MLAs met the Speaker

One MLA reached the Assembly late and could not meet
the Speaker as the latter left for Tirupati as per a scheduled
programme. "Some other MLAs could not come today as they were
preoccupied with other things. But they too will submit their
written explanations to the Speaker soon," MLAs Balineni
Srinivasa Reddy and Prasada Raju told newsmen.

On the other hand, Konda Surekha, MLA from Parkal in
Warangal district of Telangana region, said she urged the
Speaker either to accept her resignation or disqualify her.

"I had previously submitted my resignation on the
statehood issue. I voted against the government on the
no-confidence motion as the Congress failed to come out with a
clear stand on Telangana issue," she told mediapersons.

"I may be loyal to Jagan but I resigned from the
Assembly on the statehood issue. I voted against the
government on the same issue," Surekha maintained.

Incidentally, her resignation was rejected by the
Speaker along with other Telangana MLAs while two petitions
seeking her disqualification, for acting against Congress and
voting against the government, were pending with the Speaker.

Besides Surekha, the MLAs who met the Speaker were
Balineni Srinivasa Reddy, Mekapati Chandrasekhar Reddy,
Prasada Raju, Pinnelli Ramakrishna Reddy, A Amarnath Reddy, G
Babu Rao, Dharmana Krishna Das, Chennakesava Reddy, Gurunatha
Reddy, T Balaraju and Sobha Nagi Reddy.


First Published: Monday, December 26, 2011 - 18:04
comments powered by Disqus