This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Legislators from Rayalaseema protest AP division p

Last Updated: Sunday, July 7, 2013 - 19:40

Kadapa: Five Andhra Pradesh legislators on Sunday said they had `submitted` their resignations in protest against the proposal to divide the state for the creation of separate state of Telangana.

Congress MLA from Jammulamadugu Adi Narayana Reddy, YSR Congress MLAs from Rayachoty G Srikanth Reddy, its MLA from Kodurand K Srinivasulu, and MLCs Devagudi Narayana Reddy (YSR Congress) and B Pullaiah today said at a rally organised by Samikyandhra Joint Action Committee that they had handed resignations to Chandra Sekhar Reddy, convener of committee.

They requested the Central government to give up "the idea of dividing Rayalaseema region, which had its own identity and historical prominence".

"We are submitting our resignations in protest against the idea of dividing the Rayalaseema in the name of Rayala Telangana," they said.

The Centre should keep the three regions -- Rayalaseema, Andhra and Telangana -- united, they said.

Chandra Sekhar Reddy said that he would forward the resignations to the Assembly Speaker and the Chairman of Legislative Council.

The Centre has not taken any decision on the Telangana issue yet.


First Published: Sunday, July 7, 2013 - 19:40

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus