This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

TDP to move no-confidence motion in Andhra Pradesh

Last Updated: Saturday, November 19, 2011 - 17:53

Hyderabad: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) will
move a no-confidence motion against the Kiran Kumar Reddy
government in Andhra Pradesh in the winter session of the
state legislature that is expected to begin from December 1.

"We will move the no-confidence motion against the
government on the farmers` issues as well as its anti-people
policies," TDP politburo members K Yerran Naidu and Yanamala
Ramakrishnudu told a press conference here this afternoon.
Though the TDP wanted to move a no-confidence motion in
the Assembly in June, the session lasted only for a day for
the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker.

Kadapa MP Y S Jaganmohan Reddy-led YSR Congress and the
separatist Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) had challenged the
TDP to table a no-confidence motion against the government but
now the Jagan loyalists have announced that they would not
vote against the Congress government.

The YSR Congress had been alleging that the Kiran Kumar
Reddy government was surviving only with the support of the
TDP, as the ruling and the principal opposition parties were
into "match-fixing".

"The no-confidence motion will prove, who is into
match-fixing with whom," Yerran Naidu and Yanamala remarked.

One after the other, the "so-called loyalists" of Jagan
were returning to the Congress and asserting that they would
not pull down the government, the TDP leaders pointed out.
"One day, Jagan himself will merge with the Congress," they
However, the no-confidence motion is not likely to not
pose any threat to the ruling Congress government, as the TDP
only has 83 members in the 294-member AP Assembly.

If the TRS supports the no-confidence motion, as
promised, another 12 members could be added to the tally. The
CPI has four and the CPM one MLA and they have not yet taken a
stand on the no-trust vote.

The lone Lok Satta Party MLA N Jayaprakash Narayan
announced that he would support the no-confidence motion
against the government.

Currently, three seats are vacant in the Assembly,
following the resignation of two TDP rebels and the death of a
Congress MLA.

Resignations of 79 MLAs are pending disposal, and Speaker
Nadendla Manohar is expected to take a final call on them by
the end of this month.

Given the support of 17 MLAs of the erstwhile Praja
Rajyam Party, who now merged with Congress, and the outside
support of seven Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen legislators, the
government can sit pretty with its own strength technically
being 155.


First Published: Saturday, November 19, 2011 - 17:53

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus