Telangana bypolls: EC to hold elections in 12 constituencies

Last Updated: Thursday, July 1, 2010 - 22:15

Hyderabad: The Election Commission on Thursday
decided to hold by-elections to Vemulawada and Sircilla
assembly constituencies in Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh
on July 27 along with 10 other seats following a High Court
order to that effect.

The EC had initially decided not to conduct election in
the two seats as election petitions were pending in the courts
but has reversed its decision as the state High Court
yesterday directed that bypoll be held in the two seats along
with 10 other constituencies.

"Election notification for the 12 seats will be issued
tomorrow and polling will be held on July 27," state Chief
Electoral Officer I V Subba Rao told reporters here today.

He said nominations will be accepted till July nine and
their scrutiny would take place on July 10. The nominations
can be withdrawn till July 12 and counting will be taken up on
July 30.

He said 60,000 state policemen and about 8,000 Central
security personnel would provide security to the election

In an effort to see that the election expenditure of
candidates does not cross the stipulated limit of Rs 10 lakh,
special committees have been constituted in various districts
to monitor the actual expenditure made by them on a daily
basis, he said.

The committees, appointed for the first time, comprised
police, revenue, commercial tax officials and also Income Tax

In the wake of allegedly inflammatory statements made by
some Telangana supporters, the CEO appealed to all political
parties and leaders to refrain from making any such

The CEO said over 23,50,000 voters would exercise their
franchise in 2,726 polling stations in the 12 seats.

The bypolls in the 12 seats have been necessitated as the
sitting MLAs had quit their posts in support of separate
Telangana demand.


First Published: Thursday, July 1, 2010 - 22:15

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus