This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Telangana Cong MPs move privilege motion against Andhra govt

Last Updated: Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 22:02

New Delhi: Seven Congress MPs from Telangana region have moved a privilege motion against the Andhra Pradesh government for arresting them and not informing the Lok Sabha Secretariat in September during a march in connection with Telangana issue.

Manda Jagannath, Madhu Goud Yashki, Ponnam Prabhakar, Rajaiah Siricilla, G Sukhender Reddy, G Vivekanand and K Rajagopal Reddy moved the motion in October and met Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar yesterday in this regard.

They alleged that they went to meet Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy at his camp office in Hyderabad, but "he not only refused to meet us but got us arrested.

"It has been a practice that the chief minister normally meets public representatives especially in such emergency situations. But unfortunately, the chief minister got us arrested and refused to meet us."

"We understand that the police did not inform the Lok Sabha secretariat about our arrest which is illegal," they said in a letter to Kumar.

"Under the above explained circumstances, there is a breach of privilege of members of parliament. We have moved a privilege motion which is pending before the Hon`ble Speaker. We now request your good-self to take up the motion as soon as possible," they said.


First Published: Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 22:01

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus