Telangana MLAs on protest in Speaker`s chamber

Last Updated: Sunday, October 2, 2011 - 00:21

Hyderabad: In an unprecedented development, four legislators from Telangana region carried on a sit-in inside the Speaker`s chamber at the Andhra Pradesh Assembly till late Saturday night, demanding that their resignations be accepted.

High drama was on at the Assembly premises as four legislators led by former minister Nagam Janardhana Reddy continued their protest for over eight hours, insisting that the Speaker accept their resignations over the demand for separate Telangana state.

The legislators had again submitted their resignations in August after their resignations along those of 100 other legislators from the region were rejected by Speaker N Manohar in July.

Janardhana Reddy, Venugopala Chary, Harishwar Reddy and Jogu Ramanna had also quit opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) last month, alleging that the party is not supporting the demand for Telangana state.

The legislators reached the Assembly around 2.30 pm and sat in the chamber, demanding that the Speaker accept their resignations.

They argued that it is their democratic right that the Speaker accept their resignations. They had visited the Assembly several times making the same demand but the Speaker did not take a decision despite hearing them individually.

The Speaker spoke to the legislators over phone and urged them to end their protest.

Security personnel of the Assembly and police were mobilised in the premises.

The family members of the legislators meanwhile alleged that police are not allowing them to go in with medicines.


First Published: Sunday, October 2, 2011 - 00:21

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus