Telangana MPs, ministers thank Sonia for `historic decision`
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, December 14, 2009, 21:19
New Delhi: Andhra Pradesh ministers and MPs from Telengana region today thanked Congress President Sonia Gandhi for her "historic decision" initiating the process for the formation of a separate Telangana state.

"We the ministers and MPs from Telengana express our sincere gratitude and thanks for your kind gesture for initiating the process for formation of Telangana state," they said in a joint letter to the Congress President.

They told her that she has positively responded to the long-felt desire and aspirations of more than three crore people of the Telangana region.

"On behalf of the people of Telangana, we assure you Madam, our unstinted support to the Congress and to your leadership for this historic decision", they said, assuring her that they would uphold all the values and virtues in the true spirit of Indian democracy.

The signatories to the letter included 11 ministers in the Andhra Pradesh government and 14 MPs.

The MPs included Ponnam Prabhakar, M Jagannadh, G Sukhender Reddy, Ghanta Vivek, Nandi Yellaiah among others.

The ministers of the state government included Ponnala Lakshmaiah and J Geetha Reddy, Sudershan Reddy, Damodar Rajanarsimha, among others.


First Published: Monday, December 14, 2009, 21:19

comments powered by Disqus