This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Telangana row: SC issues contempt notices to KCR, Vijayashanti and 10 others

Last Updated: Monday, January 3, 2011 - 23:04

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Monday issued a
contempt notice to TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao, actress-
turned-party MP from Vijayawada Vijayashanti and 10 others for
allegedly vandalising the Andhra Pradesh High Court and
hurling slippers at two judges in September last over
Telananga row.

One of the judges C V Nagaarjun Reddy had at that time
resigned in protest but subsequently withdrew it.

A bench of justices J M Panchal and H L Gokhale issued
the notice after counsel N Rajaraman and Sateesh Galla
submitted that the alleged contemnors had scandalised the
judiciary and wilfully obstructed administration of justice by
resorting to such agitation.

Others against whom the contempt notices have been
issued are Madhu Yashki, M P Nizamabadad, K Taraka Rama Rao
and Etala Rajendra, MLAs, D.Prakash Reddy, President AP High
Court Bar Association, A Narasimha Reddy, Chairman of Bar
Council of Andhra Pradesh, Satyam Reddy, Jyoti Kiran, Vinay
Kumar Goud, advocates advocate the High Court Bar Association,
K Kavitha, President Telanga Jagruthi Samithi and party leader
N Narsimha Reddy.


First Published: Monday, January 3, 2011 - 23:04
comments powered by Disqus