Three new ministers join Reddy Cabinet in AP

The ministry of AP Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy was on Monday expanded with the induction of three legislators.

Hyderabad: The ministry of Andhra Pradesh
Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy was on Monday expanded with the
induction of three legislators.

Governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath to the
three new Congress ministers -- N Uttam Kumar Reddy, G Prasad
Kumar and K Murali Mohan -- at a brief ceremony held at Raj
Bhavan here.

Uttar Reddy and Prasad Kumar belong to Telangana region,
while Murali Mohan hails from coastal Andhra. With this, the
strength of the Cabinet rose to 41.

Uttam Reddy represents Huzur Nagar in Nalgonda district,
while Prasad Kumar is legislator from Vikarabad in Rangareddy
district. Murali Mohan is MLA from Rajam in Srikakulam

Uttam Reddy and Prasad Kumar fill the vacancies caused
by the exit of Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and P Shankar Rao.

The minor expansion of Cabinet followed the discussions
the chief minister had with Congress President Sonia Gandhi
and other party leaders during his two-day visit to Delhi last

The oath ceremony was attended by the Chief Minister,
State Congress President and Transport Minister Botsa
Satyanarayana, Assembly Speaker N Manohar, Legislative Council
Chairman A Chakrapani, Congress MLA Chiranjeevi, among others.

Notable absentees were Deputy Chief Minister Damodar
Rajanarasimha and Home Minister P Sabita Reddy.

Uttar Reddy is a graduate from the National Defence
Academy (NDA) and served as ADC and Comptroller to the
President of India.

He holds a Senior Commercial Pilot Licence.
He served as a fighter pilot in Indian Air Force (IAF)
and flew MIG-21 and MIG-23 aircraft.

Uttar Reddy, a decorated IAF officer, resigned in 1994
while serving in the Rashtrapati Bhavan and joined the
Congress. Reddy is a third-term legislator.

Prasad Kumar, a graduate, is a second-time MLA and is
at present functioning as Chairman of SC committee of Andhra
Pradesh Assembly.

Murali Mohan, who did BE and MBA, represents Rajam (SC
reserved) Assembly constituency in Srikakulam district.

He created history by defeating senior TDP leader K
Pratibha Bharati in the 2009 Assembly elections.

He was the Whip of Congress in the Assembly before
being inducted into the Cabinet.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link