TRS chief, Vijay Shanti resign from Lok Sabha

Last Updated: Tuesday, July 5, 2011 - 10:17

Hyderabad: The Telangana movement Tuesday gathered further steam with TRS President K Chandrasekhar Rao
and party MP Vijay Shanthi resigning from their Lok Sabha
membership in support of the demand for a separate state.

Chadrasekhar Rao and Shanthi faxed their resignation
letter to the Lok Sabha Speaker. Rao would meet the Speaker
personally in a day or two, TRS sources said.

State Textiles Minister Shankar Rao, who is in the US,
has also faxed his resignation to the Deputy Speaker, taking
the total number of state ministers who have quit to 12.

However, Rao has only resigned from the assembly and
not from the cabinet.

75 MLAs and a dozen MPs had quit yesterday to mount
pressure on the Centre for an early announcement in favour of
separate statehood demand.

Chandrasekhar Rao represents Mahaboobnagar Lok Sabha
constituency while Shanthi represents Medak constituency.

TRS and the Telangana political Joint Action
Committee (JAC) have been demanding en masse resignations by
MPs, MLAs of Congress and TDP to force the Centre to accept
the separate statehood demand.

Speaking at a meeting here last night, Chandrasekhar
Rao described the resignations of public representatives as
historical and demanded that the Centre take the en masse
resignations into cognisance for accepting the demand.


First Published: Tuesday, July 5, 2011 - 10:17

comments powered by Disqus