This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

TRS to move no-confidence motion against AP govt

Last Updated: Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 12:43

Hyderabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and YSR Congress party Thursday gave separate notices for moving no-confidence motions in the assembly against the state Congress government.
TRS submitted a notice with signatures of 25 legislators to speaker N. Manohar while YSR Congress gave another notice with 18 signatures. Legislators of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), two communist parties and an independent member signed the TRS notice.

Both the parties accused the Congress government of all-round failure and contended that it has no right to continue in power. They said the people were reeling under unprecedented electricity shortage but the government was continuing to impose more burden on consumers by imposing Fuel Surcharge Adjustment (FSA).

TRS also charged the government with betraying the people of Telangana on the issue of separate statehood to the region.
Though the main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) had ruled out supporting the no-confidence motions sought to be moved by both the parties, TRS leader Etela Rajender hoped TDP will come forward to extend its support.

YSR Congress leader Shobha Nagi Reddy reminded TDP that her party had backed its no-confidence motion in December 2011 and expected its support this time. She, however, said that if TDP moved a no-confidence motion on its own, YSR Congress would support it.

In the 295-member assembly, the Congress has 147 members, one less than the simple majority. TDP has 85 members, TRS 18 (including an independent) and YSR Congress 17.


First Published: Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 12:43
comments powered by Disqus