No votes in 16 polling stations of Ratabari constituency
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, April 04, 2011, 20:10
Ratabari(Assam): Altogether 21,665 voters in 16 polling stations did not exercise their franchise in Nivia Charagi area under Ratabari assembly constituency in Assam's Karimganj district today in protest against the poor infrastructural facilities in the area.

Official sources said not a single vote was polled in these polling stations where polling personnel had to reach on elephant back and then trek for over six kilometres.

The people of 15 villages, on the remote Ratachora hills bordering Mizoram, decided to stay away from the polls though they had not made any announcement of boycotting the polls earlier.

"We decided to boycott the elections as since Independence no development has taken place in the area and despite repeated appeals to our representatives, both in Parliament and state assembly, no steps have been taken to improve the condition of this remote area", President of Anipur Joumong Sadak Sangram Samiti Abhimanyu said.

Singh said that they had not announced earlier as the leaders always made false promises and did not fulfill them.

The area had extremely poor road communications and health facilities were also very bad, he added.

There are 12 candidates in the fray in the constituency. Prominrny among them were Kripanath Mallah of Congress, BJP's Nikhil Suklabaidya and Priyada Ranjan Mullick of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF).


First Published: Monday, April 04, 2011, 20:10

comments powered by Disqus