This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Assembly Elections 2016 Results


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 3
TMC 0 211
CPM+ 0 32
CONG 0 44
OTH 0 4

Tamil nadu (234)

Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
AIADMK 0 134
DMK+ 0 98
DMDK+ 0 0
OTH 0 0

Assam (126)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 86
CONG+ 0 26
AIUDF+ 0 13
OTH 0 1

Kerala (140)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 1
LDF 0 82
UDF 0 47
OTH 0 10


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
CONG+ 0 17
OTH 0 9

BJP, AGP, BPF make history in Assam, win 86 seats; CM designate Sarbananda Sonowal thanks people for massive support

Last Updated: Friday, May 20, 2016 - 00:11
BJP, AGP, BPF make history in Assam, win 86 seats; CM designate Sarbananda Sonowal thanks people for massive support
Zee Media Bureau

Guwahati: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its two poll allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) on Thursday created history in Assam by winning a whopping 86 seats in the 126-member Assembly, with chief minister designate Sarbananda Sonowal calling the verdict a “massive victory for the people of the state”.

This is the first time BJP will form its government in a northeastern state.

Sonowal expressed his “sincere gratitude” to the people of Assam “for giving us the opportunity to work for the development of the state”.

He credited the victory to the team work of the party workers and allies.

“Because of our united approach, BJP and our partners were able to get their message to the people who know we can deliver,” Sonowal told reporters.

The BJP chief ministerial candidate said that dealing with "infiltration" and sealing the India-Bangladesh border will be his government's top priority.

Sonowal described the BJP allies in the state as the party's strong pillars which helped register the historic win for NDA in Assam.

According to the final tally of the Election Commission, BJP has won 60 seats, Congress 26, AGP 14, AIUDF 13, BPF 12 and independent 1 seat.

Addressing the media after BJP's landslide victory on Thursday, Sonowal thanked the people of Assam and said his government will be prepared to face the multifaceted challenges in the state.

He said that he would also seek outgoing CM Tarun Gogoi's advice, because of his long stint in politics, in solving the state's myriad problems.

He also thanked the Election Commission for “peaceful” assembly election.

Congratulating the party workers for the massive victory in Assam, Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his message said, "Heartiest congratulations to Assam BJP karyakartas and leaders for the exceptional win. This win is historic by all standards. Phenomenal!

“BJP will do everything possible to fulfil the dreams and aspirations of the people of Assam and take the state’s development journey to new heights," he said.

Later addressing the media and his supporters at the BJP headquarters in New Delhi, PM Modi said: “I extend my heartiest wishes to all the voters, the election results are quite exciting for BJP and NDA.”

Meanwhile accepting the defeat, outgoing chief minister Tarun Gogoi said, “With all humbleness we accept the verdict of the people of Assam.”

BJP leader Venkaiah Naidu said, “The Assembly results clearly show that people of India are intolerant towards Congress.”

Jitendra Singh, MoS in PMO, thanked the people of Assam and said, "It is a reiteration of faith of the people in leadership of PM Narendra Modi.”

BJP President Amit Shah too has congratulated the prime minister and CM designate Sarbananda Sonowal over the emphatic victory in Assam.

The 2016 Assam Assembly poll is a watershed election for the saffron party since for the first time it will form its government in a northeastern state. Political pandits have described BJP's poll victory in Assam as just a beginning and hoped it will eventually extend its governments in other northeastern states, which predominantly had been a Congress bastion.

First Published: Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 23:00
comments powered by Disqus