Gogoi asks Modi to recognise 6 Assam communities as ST

In a letter to PM, Assam CM Tarun Gogoi said Moran, Muttock, Tai Ahom, Koch-Rajbongshi, Sootea and Tea Tribes should be recognised as ST.

New Delhi: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi on Thursday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi to recognise six communities in Assam as Schedule Tribe as early as possible.

In a letter to Modi, Gogoi said Moran, Muttock, Tai Ahom, Koch-Rajbongshi, Sootea and Tea Tribes, which are now in the OBC category, should be recognised as ST as demanded by the six communities.

The Chief Minister said the Assam government has fulfilled all the formalities of recognising the communities as ST and sent the proposal to the central government long ago and a resolution was also adopted in the Assam Assembly in this effect.

"I would like to request you to recognise the six communities as ST so that they can enjoy the socio-economic benefits provided under the Constitution," Gogoi said.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link