This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Pranab Gogoi new Speaker of Assam Assembly

Last Updated: Monday, June 6, 2011 - 14:56

Guwahati: Pranab Gogoi, newly elected
Congress MLA from Sibsagar constituency, was Monday unanimously elected the speaker of the 13th Assam Assembly.

Protem speaker Dr Bhumidhar Barman declared the
unanimous choice of Gogoi to be the new speaker of the house.

Congratulating Gogoi on his election as speaker, Chief
Minister Tarun Gogoi hoped that he would facilitate smooth
functioning of the state Assembly.

"We hope that the new speaker will uphold the
traditional dignity of the august house", the chief minister
Others who congratulated the new speaker were two-time
former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta and senior
ministers Nilomani Sen Deka and Pradyut Bordoloi.


First Published: Monday, June 6, 2011 - 14:56
comments powered by Disqus