Sonia constitutes Assam PCC

The newly-constituted Pradesh Congress Committee for Assam has eight Vice Presidents and 11 general secretaries.

New Delhi: Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, Union Minister Pawan Singh Ghatowar, former Union Ministers BK Handique and Santosh Mohan Dev and former chief minister Hiteshwar Saikia`s wife Hemprabha have been made members in the newly-constituted Pradesh Congress Committee for Assam.

Rajya Sabha MP MP Bhuvneshwar Kalita is the PCC President of the state.

The newly-constituted PCC has eight Vice Presidents and 11 general secretaries.

All MPs of the party from Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha from Assam have been made permanent invitees to the Committee.

Former Union Ministers Dev and Handique are executive members of the committee along with Gogoi, Saikia and former chief minister Bhumidar Barman.

President of State Youth Congress and NSUI and all AICC office bearers from the state have been made permanent invitees.

Former Speaker Seikh Chand Mohammed, state Mahila Congrress chief Sarifa Begun, former minister GC Langthasa, Health Minister in Assam Government Himanta Biswa Sarma, ex MP Dwijen Sharma and minister Akon Bora also find their place in the committee.

AICC general secretary in-charge for Assam Digvijay Singh said that Kalita has already taken over as the new PCC chief earlier when the organisational elections were held in the state.

In another decision, Gandhi also constituted a 21-member Publicity and Publication Committee for the poll-bound Himachal Pradesh in which party MP Viplove Thakur has been made the Chairperson while Ajay Bahadur Singh has been named as convenor.