This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Congress declares 111 Assembly candidates in Telangana

IANS | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 00:32

New Delhi: Actor M Vijaya Shanthi is among the 111 Assembly candidates declared Monday by the Congress for Telangana, according to a party release.

The list for "Andhra Pradesh (Telangana)" was released by party leader Oscar Fernandes here.
"The central election committee has selected candidates for the ensuing assembly elections to legislative assembly of Andhra Pradesh," the release said.

Vijaya Shanti was elected from Medak to the 15th Lok Sabha as a Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) candidate. She had later joined the Congress.
Elections to Andhra Pradesh assembly are being held April 30 and May 7.

The parliament had in February this year passed the bill for creating Telanga by bifurcating Andhra Pradesh. The new state will come into being June 2.

First Published: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 00:32
comments powered by Disqus