Bihar polls: All major political parties confident of victory
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, October 21, 2010, 20:05
Patna: As the electoral battle in 47 of the 243 assembly seats in Bihar ended in the first phase on Thursday, leaders of all major political parties expressed confidence of a good showing.

BJP president Nitin Gadkari said he was happy to receive reports of positive voting in favour of the NDA.

"NDA will stage a comeback with a comfortable majority," he said.

"The voting has proved beyond doubt that people have reposed their faith in the ruling NDA to serve for the next five years," Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi told reporters.

Ruling JD(U) national spokesperson Shivanand Tiwari, claimed that the NDA would win 40 to 42 of the 47 seats in the first phase.

Rubbishing their claim, LJP supremo Ramvilas Paswan and RJD spokesperson Shakeel Ahmed Khan said their alliance would pull off spectacular victory winning 45 seats.

While Tejaswi Yadav, son of RJD boss Lalu Prasad claimed victory of the LJP-RJD nominees in all 47 seats.

State Congress chief spokesperson Premchandra Mishra said his party would have good showing in the first round of the electoral battle.


First Published: Thursday, October 21, 2010, 20:05

comments powered by Disqus