Nitish keeps Home, Personnel, Modi gets Finance
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Friday, November 26, 2010, 22:42
Patna: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Friday night allocated portfolios to the ministers retaining Home, General Administration, Election, Vigilance and rest of the departments and giving his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi the charge of Finance.

Modi would hold the portfolios of Finance, Commercial Taxes and Forest and Enviornment also.

JD(U) Minister Vijay Kumar Chowdhury would hold charge of Water Resources department, while Bijendra Prasad Yadav would be the Minister for Energy with the additional charge of Parliamentary Affairs, Excise and Prohibition and Registration departments.

Nand Kishore Yadav of BJP would be the Minister for Road Construction, according to an official notification issued tonight.

Kumar allotted the Agriculture portfolio to Narendra Singh (JDU).

JDU's Brishen Patel will be the minister for Information and Public relations and Transport, while Ramai Ram would take care of Revenue and Land Reform department.

Ram had held the department in the erstwhile Rabri Devi cabinet.

Chandra Mohan Rai, Ashwini Kumar Chowbey, Prem Kumar, Janardan Singh Sigriwal and Giriraj Singh (all from BJP) would be ministers for PHED, Health, Urban Development and Housing, Labour Resources, Animal and Fishery resources, respectively.

Similarly, BJP's Satyadeo Narayan Arya, Ramadhar Singh, Sukhda Pandey and Sunil Kumar alias Pintoo would hold the charge of Mine and Geology, Co-operative, Youth, Art and Culture and Tourism departments, respectively.

JDU's Hari Prasad Sah, Bhim Singh, Renu Kumari, Jitan Ram Manjhi, Damodar Rout and Narendra Narayan Yadav would hold the portfolios of Panchayati Raj, Rural Work, Industry and Disaster Management, Scheduled Caste and Tribal Welfare, Building Construction and Law, Planning and Development, respectively.

Similarly, Prashant Kumar Sahi, Shahid Ali Khan, Shyam Rajak, Smt Parveen Amanullah, Nitish Mishra, Awdesh Prasad Kushwaha and Goutam Singh (all from JDU) would hold the charge of departments of Human Resource development, Minority Welfare, Food and Consumer Protection, Social Welfare, Rural development, Sugarcane Industry and Science and Technology, respectively.

Khan would also hold the additional charge of IT department.


First Published: Friday, November 26, 2010, 22:42

comments powered by Disqus